News:

Welcome to the new (and now only) Fora!

Main Menu

helping doc students to progress

Started by bluefooted, July 22, 2021, 12:25:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bluefooted

Seeking advice and tricks...

I am a new-ish assistant professor (in the humanities) and a few of my doc students have started their dissertation milestones (qualifying exam/paper, dissertation proposal). What I am seeing is that they aren't progressing on getting them done. I am worried that they are going to stall out (while also expecting/hoping me to fund them). They are great people and they do my research work for/with me. They just don't seem to move on their own work.

Things I have tried: 1) setting up a schedule with them of weekly writing goals and times (they make it but then don't stick to it), 2) offering detailed feedback on sections of writing - I don't require a full draft (they start doing this but then stop sending me stuff), 3) weekly short check-in meetings (which become them telling me inperson/online that they aren't progressing), 4) weekly co-writing times where we sit and write together (which they start to miss).

I really am trying to be supportive! I try to be encouraging! I didn't require any of this structure from my advisor, so even these things seem extra-ordinary, but I really want my people to succeed! Help!

Parasaurolophus

That all sounds great. But maybe the frequency is too high, and they're burning out early? It can take a while to move out of the coursework habit of writing papers until all hours of the night/morning, and into the professional habit of doing a little every day, usually earlier in the day.

Beyond educating them about good research and writing habits, and giving them opportunities to put that newfound knowledge into practice, there's not much you can do.
I know it's a genus.

onthefringe