News:

Welcome to the new (and now only) Fora!

Main Menu

Romantic lives

Started by HappilyTenured, July 15, 2022, 04:36:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

HappilyTenured

Have any of you struggled to have romantic partners because you were an academic/Ph.D candidate?

I'm a first-gen university graduate and a woman. I have a successful career.

But I'm now looking into professional matchmaking services to find a romantic partner. I see this as my last chance at love.

I did try through traditional means for years, and it's just impossible. I get told all the time, "I want to get to know you, but I'm scared to talk to you." I'm also gifted and have Asperger's/Autism (formerly diagnosed by a neuropsychologist), and it seems too obvious to notice? Growing up, I experienced a lot of bullying because I just did not fit in wherever I'd go, and I still feel like this today.

Has anyone had similar experiences? My therapist and academic mentors say that my path is too "distinctive" from the people I know, and that's why all they see is my difference, even though I try to hide it/tone it down.

research_prof

Yes, for several years.

Others would simply not understand what a PhD student does and why I work so much. I was also an international student, so I saw prospective partners turning me down because of my accent, different culture, etc. I was using dating apps at that time until I found someone with a similar background to mine: had a PhD and used to be an international student as well. We have been together ever since, got engaged, and we are getting married soon.

I would say that your best bet is to find someone with a similar life/education/career path as yours. Such people are the most likely to understand who you are, where you are coming from, and why you act the way you act.

downer

What are professional matchmaking services? I've not heard of them.